Roland Garros 2017
Roland Garros

Held in May/June in Bois de Boulogne, the Roland Garros Tennis tournament is the most famous sport event in Paris. Named after the French aviator Roland Garros, it is the premier clay court tennis championship in the world. Sport Paris.

Come to Roland Garros 2017

The Roland Garros Championships in Paris are the premier clay court tennis tournament. This prestigious event is also the second of the four Grand Slam tournaments. The slow playing surface makes it very demanding.

Rolland Garros 2017 will take place durnig a whole fortnight from May 28th to June 11th 2017. The ladies' final is on Saturday June 10th and the mens' final on Sunday Jun 11th. Book your Paris hotel or apartment early if you can.

Roland Garros is played on clay
Roland Garros is played on clay

Roland Garros 2017 tickets

There are three main courts, Philippe Chatrier, Suzanne Lenglen, Court No.1, for the most important matches and outside courts. Ticket options give you access to single matches up to unlimited access to matches. Packages, prices and tickets are available through the web site.

Find a good hotel near Roland Garros Stadium or prefer to stay in Paris central districts (20 to 30 minutes by metro).

Paris Masters | AccorHotels Arena

Raphael Nadal won Roland Garros nine times
Raphael Nadal won Roland Garros nine times

Roland Garros facts

2, avenue Gordon Bennett
Paris 75016 France

Roland Garros 2017 is held in fancy Roland Garros Stadium on the edge of Bois de Boulogne in Paris.

Paris metro: Porte d'Auteuil metro station on metro line 10. 10 minute walk from metro to Stadium.

Locate Roland Garros Stadium on Paris map.
See detailed Roland Garros map.

Raphael Nadal has won the Roland Garros tournament an amazing nine times. List of winners in the last twelve years:

2005: Rafael Nadal (Spain). 2006: Rafael Nadal (Spain). 2007: Rafael Nadal (Spain). 2008: Rafael Nadal (Spain). 2009: Roger Federer (Swiss). 2010: Rafael Nadal (Spain). 2011: Rafael Nadal (Spain). 2012: Rafael Nadal (Spain). 2013: Rafael Nadal (Spain). 2014: Rafael Nadal (Spain). 2015: Stan Wawrinka (Swiss). 2016: Novak Djokovic (Serbia).

Novak Djokovic won Roland Garros 2016
Novak Djokovic won Roland Garros 2016

Roland Garros
Roland Garros map. Roland Garros has three main courses

Roland Garros, the aviator

Throughout the world, Roland Garros is synonymous with tennis. Few people know the stadium was named after a legendary aviator who pioneered fighter combat during World War I. Roland Garros’ passion was flying.

When war broke out in 1914, Roland Garros was famous in the world of aviation. He was exempt from the draft but decided to enroll anyway. He took part in reconnaissance missions and bombings, but was frustrated by technological limitations. Garros helped devise a synchronization system that enabled pilots to shoot through a plane’s propellers without hitting the blades. On October 5, 1918, on the eve of his 30th birthday, Garros took part in one last, fateful mission over the Ardennes, along with five other French aircraft. Four of them had left to chase a German aircraft when a squadron of six Fokker planes suddenly appeared. Garros dived in for the fight and never came back.

In 1928, France hosted the final of the Davis Cup and won it against the USA in a new stadium. The constructor insisted it be named after Garros, his comrade during the war.

Roland Garros, the aviator
Roland Garros, the aviator
Things to do in Paris Restaurants Stay in Paris Paris nightlife Transport Sport Paris Paris map
Places to visit in Paris Monuments Museums Paris for kids Gardens and parks Bus tours
Paris shopping malls Department stores French fashion Paris markets Flea Market Food in Paris
Places in France Normandy tours Paris wine tours Chateaux de la Loire French Riviera Chartres Lourdes
© About us - Contact us - Print PageSite Map